The Society of Jesus is a world wide order of Catholic priests and brothers (the Jesuits) founded by St Ignatius of Loyola a little over 500 years ago. Within India,the Society is divided into 18 Provinces and into half a dozen Regions (dependent on the Province). Jamshedpur Province is spread across two of the 29 States in India – Jharkhand and Orissa.

St Ignatius

St. Ignatius of Loyola

There are 233 priests, brothers and scholastics (men in studies) in Jamshedpur out of a total 4004 working in India and Sri Lanka. Our men work in a wide variety of ministries: elementary, secondary and higher educational institutions, parishes, retreat houses, social services, seminaries, Jesuit Refugee Camps and more.

By a decree of the General of the Jesuits, Very Reverend Father John Baptist Janssens, dated February 2, 1947, the new Jamshedpur Mission was created, carved from parts of Ranchi and Calcutta Missions. The geographical area covered by this second American Mission included the civil districts of Manbhum and Singhbhum, and the old states of Kharswan and Saraikela.

The Mission was named after the principal city of the region, Jamshedpur, and was entrusted to the concern of the Maryland Province of the Society of Jesus in the United States. This was to be a mission very different from the already existing (since 1921) American Mission in Patna. The Missionaries to Jamshedpur landed in a new and free India born at midnight on August 15, 1947.

To know more about St Ignatius, the Jesuits and Jamshedpur Jesuits, click on the image below.